Sunday, September 22, 2019
 

“I Want My Two Dollars!”


According to yesterday’s WSJ, some visual artists are better off dead. Well not quite, but better off without their royalty checks guaranteed to them under California law. The Journal summarizes this law nicely:

When a work of art is resold in the state, or by a California resident, the seller must set aside 5% of the gross selling price to pay the artist. The law applies to any resale of $1,000 or more within 20 years of an artist’s death, so long as the sale isn’t between dealers.

That’s right: this applies to any resale, and John Baldessari certainly accepts his checks. Donn Zaretsky has an interesting interpretation of the “by a California resident” section of this law. More from the WSJ here.

 

Comments

No comments so far.
  • Leave a Reply
     
    Your gravatar
    Your Name
     
     
     

     
     
 
Legal

Clancco, Clancco: The Source for Art & Law, Clancco.com, and Art & Law are trademarks owned by Sergio Muñoz Sarmiento. The views expressed on this site are those of Sergio Muñoz Sarmiento and of the artists and writers who submit to Clancco.com. They are not the views of any other organization, legal or otherwise. All content contained on or made available through Clancco.com is not intended to and does not constitute legal advice and no attorney-client relationship is formed, nor is anything submitted to Clancco.com treated as confidential.

Website Terms of Use, Privacy, and Applicable Law.
 

Switch to our mobile site